The World’s Largest Trading Bloc

This past week, fifteen Asia-Pacific countries formed the world’s largest trading bloc, called the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP).

Highlights of the deal include:

  • The trade bloc includes: all ten nations under the ASEAN, plus China, Japan, South Korea, Australia and New Zealand
  • Notably absent…the USA
  • The RCEP deal is forecasted to account for 30% of the global economy
  • RCEP signifies the first time China, Japan and South Korea are a part of a single trade agreement
  • India participated in initial talks, but pulled out in November 2019
Scroll to Top